Subject to some exceptions,Arkansas prohibits possessing open containers of alcohol in a motor vehicle. This article provides an overview of Arkansas鈥檚 open container law and the penalties for a violation. Until recently,Arkansas was one of a handful of states that didn鈥檛 have an open container law.
People also ask
What is considered an open container in Arkansas?
An open container is defined as any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any amount of alcoholic beverage that is open, has a broken seal, or has had the contents partially removed. Arkansas’s open container law applies to vehicles driven or drawn by mechanical power and manufactured primarily for use on a public highway.
What are the open container laws?
As part of basic public safety there are regulations on open containers. Open container laws refer to anything regulating open alcohol containers in public or in vehicles. These are left up to states and local municipalities to legislate. Let鈥檚 more closely examine open container laws and the implications.
What states do not have open container laws?
All but one state, Guam, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia have laws that prohibit the consumption or possession of open containers of alcohol while in a motor vehicle. Mississippi and the Virgin Islands do not have statutes regulating the consumption or possession of alcohol in motor vehicles.
What is the penalty for open container violation in Arkansas?
the open container is not readily accessible to the driver. Violation of Arkansas’s open container law is a Class C misdemeanor. The maximum penalties are 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.