ADAP: Must complete anAlcohol and Drug Awareness Programas part of your permit application process. Driver’s Ed Requirement Mandatory completion of a 30-hour Joshua’s Law Driver’s Ed course for new drivers under the age of 18. Driver’s Training Teens are required to complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with a licensed adult.File Size:1MBPage Count:4
What is Joshua’s law and how does it help teen drivers?
What is Joshua’s Law and how does it help teen drivers? In Georgia, Joshua’s Law states that a new driver age 16-18 may only drive with family members (no peer passengers) for the first six months following the issuance of a driver’s license. During the second 6-month period, a new driver can have only one peer passenger in the vehicle.
What is ADAP and why is it important?
What is ADAP? ADAP is an acronym that stands for Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program. In Georgia, teens under the age of 18 are required by law to prove that they have completed ADAP to obtain their Class D driver’s license.
What do you need to know about Joshua’s Law Georgia?
Joshua’s Law — What You Need to Know. This online driver education course meets the 30-hour classroom requirement established by Joshua’s Law. Your completion of the program will be automatically reported to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (Georgia DDS) within 1-2 business days.
Who pushed Joshua’s law?
Another huge proponent of teen driver safety is Alan Brown, who pushed Joshua’s Law successfully through the Georgia legislature after his son died from fatal injuries from a car accident. When asked what one piece of advice he would offer to parents of new teen drivers, Mr. Brown stated, Remember who’s in charge. You’re the parent.
If you are 16 years of age, applying for a Class D License or Motorcycle Permit (Class MP)
You must complete an approved driver education course with a certified private or public driver training school using one of the following methods. Approved classes are offered online and tend to be more economical. You must also complete each item in the method you choose.
If you are 17 years of age, applying for a Class D License or Motorcycle Permit (Class MP), on or after July 1, 2021
You must satisfy the same requirements as a 16-year old. View Joshua’s Law Course Chart (printable chart) for more information.
If you are 17 and enlisted in the military
You may apply for a Class C License and will be exempt from holding your permit for one (1) year and one day.
Please keep in mind
The DDS-approved driver education courses are offered by various high schools and private driving schools. Prices generally start at around $250. DDS has also approved online virtual programs. Online Virtual programs are lower in cost. For a list of approved schools visit Driver Training Schools.
Does this course apply to getting a license at 16?
Our Georgia 30 Hour Driver Education course is approved in Georgia to satisfy the 30 hour classroom driver education requirement under Joshua’s law. You are also required to complete 40 hours of supervised driver training (which can be done with a parent or legal guardian).
What else do I need to get my license at 16?
Click here to see all the requirements for applying for a class D license .
How do I complete the driving portion of the Joshua’s law requirement?
You can complete the 40 hours supervised driving with a parent by using the parent/teen driving guide: http://www.eregulations.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/20GAPT-LR.pdf
Can I get an insurance discount for taking this course?
Insurance companies do offer discounts for students under 25 completing driver education and training. However, you will have to check with your insurance company for a complete list of requirements to qualify for a discount.
Can you earn a tax credit for taking a driver education course?
Yes, parents or guardians are eligible for a tax credit in an amount up to a $150.00 if their dependent minor child successfully completes a course through a private driver education school that is licensed with the DDS. A copy of the Certificate of Completion and proof of the fees paid for the course will be required to qualify for the credit. The amount of the credit is equal to $150.00 or the actual amount paid, whichever is less. Courses taken at private or public high schools do not qualify for this credit. Check with the Department of Revenue for more information.
When I graduate, when do I get my certificate and what do I do?
You will receive a certificate of completion by email 1 to 2 business days after you graduate. Once you receive that email, print out the certificate, and take it to the driver’s licensing office along with the other required forms and paperwork when you apply for your license.
Why is this course called the Joshua’s Law Course?
This law is known as "Joshua’s Law" because in 2003 Joshua Brown, a high school student, hydroplaned and crashed his vehicle, resulting in fatal injuries.
What is Joshua’s Law and how can it help reduce the dangers teen drivers face every day?
When hitting the road, teen drivers face dangerous situations each and every day, but especially in the first year. According to Sgt. Ben Finley, a Driving Instructor with the Johns Creek Police Dept.,
What is the number one cause of death for teens between the ages of 16-19?
The bad news is that car crashes is still the #1 cause of death for teens between the ages of 16-19. The good news is that a law was passed in the state of Georgia in 2005 to help keep teen drivers safer on the road, despite a multitude of new and ever-present dangers.
What happens to teens when they are relaxed?
Once teens are relaxed and having fun, their willingness to learn increases and they become little sponges sopping up knowledge (without even realizing it!).
How many hours of driving experience is required for Joshua’s Law?
After turning 17, teen drivers aren’t required to take a Drivers Ed class, but they must still complete a cumulative total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving experience.
Why is texting a distraction?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA), text messaging is one of today’s most alarming distractions because it requires visual, manual and cognitive attention from the driver. Teen drivers (and the vast majority of adults) simply cannot multi-task while behind the wheel.
How long is a driver education course in Georgia?
Complete a certified 30-hour driver education course that is approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Head to the Georgia DDS website for a list of certified driving schools, like Drive Smart Georgia.
What is the minimum score for the road skills test?
Applicants must pass the road skills test with a minimum score of 75% .
How many hours of driving study is required for a teen driver?
With 30 hours of safe driving study ahead, teen drivers should have the flexibility to learn at a pace that suits their learning style. Taking a Joshua’s Law Online Course, like the one offered by I DRIVE SAFELY, allows you the opportunity
Why did Georgia pass Joshua’s Law?
In an effort to create more informed teen drivers, Georgia passed Joshua’s Law
How many hours of driving education do you need for a teen?
requirement. In addition to completing 30 hours of safe driving education, teen drivers under the age of 18 are also required
What is a parent-teen driving contract?
Parent-Teen Driving Contract will help outline expectations, rules, and boundaries for the entire family. This contract can include everything from approved and unapproved driving routes, passenger limits, curfews, vehicle maintenance, and any other expectations that teens are required to meet. Consequences can be clearly outlined and both parents and teens should sign the agreement to ensure everyone is held accountable.
How long is Joshua’s Law?
According to Georgia regulations, a Joshua’s Law driver’s education course must meet a 30-hour minimum length. This course covers valuable driving rules, regulations, and skills — all of which will prepare you for your
How long is Joshua’s Law Driver’s Ed?
Mandatory completion of a 30-hour Joshua’s Law Driver’s Ed course for new drivers under the age of 18. Driver’s Training
Can parents benefit financially from Joshua’s Law?
parents of teen drivers can also benefit financially when their teen takes a Joshua’s Law course . The parents or legal guardians of a student who completes a Joshua’s Law Online Driver’s Ed course are eligible